Classification and Taxonomy of the Phylum Priapulida



The classification of ants has long been a source of disagreement among entomologists. Several lines of evidence show that there are three main types of ants, the phylum Priapulida, order Ensifera, and the family Vespula. Within the phylum Priapulida, there are two subclasses, namely, Stachybotrys and Cimicidae.

Phylum priapulid consists of twenty-three species

Although it is universally accepted that the phylum priapulid consists of twenty-three species, with seven representatives in the entire insect kingdom, nearly all of taxonomists regard them as unique species. In addition, there is a broad division in the kind of body structures each of these insects possesses. Within the phylum, there are four subclasses, each of them having seven species. The first subclass, Metabolic, includes the tube-like or spiraled antennae of the phylum Priapulida, and the complete enveloping of the head in the form of a proboscis. These elongate antennae are joined to the body by a pair of paired muscles, or by an additional hair, called a plastron.


The second subclass, Prototheria, comprises the antennae and the limbs which have no true wings but are developed into spines by the presence of paired fins. The third subclass, Eutheria, consists of the very beautiful and unique eggs, which are encased completely, nearly to the base, except for the tip, of the abdomen. In the entire phylum, there are only two species that are oviparous, i.e., they grow both wings and eggs. They also have paired fins and the entire eggs are enclosed in a thin membrane, called a cauda equina. The eutherians are distinguished from other eagles by their bright yellowish breast, their short stout legs, and their thickening and broadening of the throat ridges.

Metabolic spines group

All the representatives of this phylum belong to the Metabolic spines group, i.e., the Caudal (or lateral) Spleen, Lateral (or ulnar) Plankton, Planktonoid, and Other marine worms. The most common fish in the phylum, along with the other eels and corals, are the cork, the stonefish, and the damselfly. The structure of the siphonoid part of the eel looks like that of its sister eel, the cork, and the anatomy of the limb remains virtually identical to that of the cork. There are three types of phalangers, namely, those with two or more pairs of paired fins, those with one or more pairs of spirally tapering fins, and the phalangers which have no paired fins at all.


The marine worms are part of the phylum Echinacea, of the Class Vaginitis. These animals are well known from the genus Verona. Their natural enemies are the crabs, fishes, snails, and even birds. The marine worms are omnivorous, and feed on either rock or vegetable matter, although the exact diet depends on the location of the location in which they live. They also eat sludge, mud, and other such substances.

Animals are known as plastids

The other phylum of eukaryotic animals are known as plastids. These animals are part of the phylum Protista and belong to the class Bacteria. The eukaryotic plastids are known from the metamorphosed algae, the planktonic cephalopods, and the eukaryotic squid. This phylum has been confused with the eukaryotic amoeba.

taxonomic groupings

The two main taxonomic groupings of ceto-precocial organisms are both complexes. They include both eukaryotes and protists (including the eukaryotic cephalopods and the metamorphosed ceto-precocial algae). Under the phylum Ceto-Precocial (the ceto-preca), Protista is recognized as a separate phylum, together with the eukaryotes Protista and chlorophyllia, while Metamorphosis is recognized as an independent class of organisms. According to a recent taxonomic analysis, Protista (which includes both eukaryotes and metamorphosing algae) is the only major surviving genus in the metamorphosis tree. In fact, it is the only one of the three present representatives of the metamorphosis family.


There is now a great deal of evidence for evolution in the fossil record. Most of this evidence comes from the Precambrian fossils. A few fossil specimens from later Cretaceous period have been found that are firmly anchored to trees, while many others are known from the latter part of the 20th century. Phylum Priapulida, or Ceto-Protecta, is recognized as one of the deepest representatives of the eukaryotic phylum and is represented by many fossils from the Cretaceous rockfall and from Asian limestone hills.

Leave a Reply